Day Five – JayDanks introduces you to Beyond the Black Rainbow

Warning: I am going to curse my ass off in this post. My feelings about it still haven’t gotten very far past sitting on the couch staring blankly and muttering “fuck…” to myself repeatedly.

DAY FIVE: Beyond the Black Rainbow
QUICKIE DESCRIPTION: wtf, and I mean that in the best possible way
LESSON OF THE DAY: Apparently the script of this 110 minute movie was 11 pages long. I was on the edge of my seat for every moment.

The only thing I can say for certain about this movie is that it is a love letter to the science fiction movies of the 1970s.

On a whim, me and McCoyed got our hands on Beyond the Black Rainbow and my first warning to you is that this movie is scary as fucking fuck. I don’t like horror much at all, and this falls into that crazy realm of live-action anime visual horror that made me dread facing the night alone (on a totally unrelated note, I stayed awake until sunrise).

Beyond3

The Sentinaut is going to haunt my dreams forever.

But I still loved this movie. Everything about it is amazingly well done and even though it freaks you out, you enjoy the ride – the trying to figure out what’s going on, and the fact that even though it’s over you still don’t know… This film is going to unsettle you at the very least, but most likely is going to scare the shit out of you. Not in a gore way, I’m talking honest-to-goodness fear/terror. Michael Rogers comes out of nowhere to deliver one of the most terrifying yet (for the most part) insanely subdued performances I’ve ever seen. Between his acting and the atmosphere Cosmatos creates, a single stare can make you feel incredibly uncomfortable, and Rogers winds up doing a hell of a lot more than staring in this movie.

I’d say “be afraid” but I don’t see how you could help yourself.

I still don’t know what to think about this movie, and I hate to say anything about it because I really really don’t want to spoil it, and because it’s going to take me a few weeks and repeat viewings to piece it all together. Whenever it comes to theaters, I’m definitely going. I cannot recommend this enough.

Leave a Reply

